Thank you for your membership, commitment and involvement in what has been another successful season at the ANUAFC.

Thanks to the 2018 Board, who have given up their time to organise social events, manage fees, player registrations, equipment, training venues, milestones, votes, sponsors and much more. We have successfully managed the highest number of registered players recorded in one season, built on the Women’s Leadership Scholarship program, invested in mental well health initiatives, additional sports physio, and the first ANU Sport strength and conditioning trial.

Special thanks must also go to the coaches and to everyone who volunteered on game day, market day and any other club related activities – your contribution is the backbone of our great club.

And of course, a huge thank you to our amazing sponsors: Dixon Advisory, Hellenic in the City, SMEC, MO’R Mortgage Options, Chamberlains Law Firm, Kingston Physiotherapy, Davis Family Builders, Delos Delta, and Bentspoke.

Achievements in 2018:

  • AFL Canberra Community Club of the Year in 4 consecutive years
  • Partnering with SMEC to launch the second AFL Women’s Leadership Scholarship
  • All 3 sides competing in finals
  • ANUAFC retaining the Pepper Cup
  • ANUAFC retaining the Club Championship in a clean sweep against Ainslie
  • ANU Old Boys defeating ACT Masters
  • Jenny Church AFL Canberra Volunteer of the Year
  • Jackie Parry AFL Canberra Rising Star Award and Leading Goal Scorer
  • Establishing and supporting the AFL Canberra Player Sharing MOU

Update from the AGM

We are very pleased to confirm the appointment of all coaching positions and nominated board positions for 2019.

2019 Coaches
Seniors – Russell Stewart assisted by Col Haining
Reserves – Haydn Dobson and Jake Prince
Women’s – Gerry Patron

2019 Board Members
President – Caitlin Roy
Vice President – Jenny Church
Secretary – Alex Williams
Treasurers – Ryan Forsyth and Jack Murphy
Social Chair – Alex Bell-Rowe (supported by Will Downing)
Footy Manager – Tom Crowe (supported by James Mount and Dani Di Stefano, Lai-yee Chow)
Coaching Coordinator – Josh Cliff
Volunteer Coordinator – Ali Mount
Sponsorship Coordinator – Anna Wilson
New role, Scholarship Coordinator – James Hancock
Communications/ media – Joel Zuccato
Canteen Manager – Jake Prince

2018 Presentation Night Award Winners

Clubman of the Year: Alex Bell-Rowe
President’s Award: Tim Robb
Volunteer’s Raffle Winner (no fees next year!): Brittany Betteridge
Senior Best and Fairest: James Mount
Runner Up: Liam Dooley
Seniors Player’s Player: James Mount
Seniors Best in Finals: Joshua Elston
Seniors Coaches Award: Jake Prince
Seniors Most Improved: William Downing
Men’s Rising Star: Liam Dooley
Reserves Best and Fairest: Rich Davis
Runner Up: Nathan Arch
Reserves Player’s Player: Rich Davis
Reserves Best in Finals: Steve Jones
Reserves Coaches Award: Shannon Brennan
Reserves Most Improved: Evan Comtesse
Women’s Best and Fairest: Elly McLean
Runner Up: Jackie Parry
Womens Player’s Player: Caitlin Roy
Womens Best in Finals: Dani DiStefano
Womens Coaches Award: Alex Williams
Womens Most Improved: Bella Hatty
Womens Rising Star: Elly McLean

And the most prestigious/dubious award of them all, the Golden Boot, went to Felicity Pagan

Thank you to all who organised a fabulous event, and to our superb MCs Andrew Nilon and Dani DiStefano